Day 3

You know, this may not be so bad. It’s so nice to miss someone so badly and then hear their voice. It’s like balm. Manna from heaven! Thank you, Jesus, for technology!

I went to Panacea for a while this afternoon, I was supposed to meet my Papa there for some coffee and quiet time. He ended up not being able to come. But, I saw a friend of mine and the owner of Panacea actually came over to my table and hung out with me for a while. It was really cool.

It’s a rare thing to enjoy a stranger’s company. To bond with someone you don’t know over a cup of coffee. We talked about Africa, his significant other is over there also. She is helping small business owners break into the American market and he is going to visit her in a couple of weeks. That led to travel talk, which led to coffee talk, which led to boyfriend/girlfriend talk. It was a pretty great time.

I also got to go to the gym tonight with a friend. Once again, amazing how you can bond with someone while you’re sweating and thinking, ‘Goodness i’m going to die here.’ Gym talk is always interesting to me. A lot of the time you’ll see two friends talking it up about sex or politics or their boss. Other times you’ll see people that run into each other and get really excited about it. And then there are the people that come alone. I wonder about those people. As I’m sweating and about to die on the elliptical – praying that my 10 minutes which will go on and on until 30 will pass quickly – I like to watch the people that come to the gym alone. I wonder about their stories. About where they work, if they’re married, if they have kids.  There is a pattern that emerges with those people. They stay in their world until they notice you looking at them and then they glance at you quickly like, what the heck is this crazy girl looking at, and act like you’re not there. Social experiments are always interesting.

So here we are, day 3. Social experiments, phone calls from heaven, bonding with strangers. I’m excited to see what tomorrow brings!

xo – Shan

Leave a Reply

