Africa

I just dropped Andrew off at the airport. He will be gone for two months in Africa to work for a local NC company. I didn’t think I could get sad at the airport… I’m not one for a grand show of sadness in a public place (though I suppose besides a funeral home an airport is a very acceptable place to cry). I hugged his neck and it hit me like a ton of bricks. He’ll be gone for 2 months. That’s 8 weeks. That is 56 days. And then the flood gates opened.

How do you love someone so much that you lose it when you have to leave them for 2 months? It’s not like he’ll be in a war being shot at, or that he’s off with hell’s angels causing a ruckus. He’s working in Africa. A place that needs people like him, he’ll be hanging out with Irish, Scottish and English rough necks. Some of his favorites… He’ll be in the jungle and exploring a volcano for part of it – I’m jealous, by they way. God will work through him while he’s there and still all the while providing protection for both of us.

Even knowing all of that I cried. In the airport. Holding my brother’s hand. Driving home. Talking to friends. Even at the moment, while writing a blog. I mean really.

How is it possible to love someone that much?

And so the count down until he returns home to me begins. 56 days. 8 weeks. 2 months.
Day 1

And so, for the next few weeks my heart is in Africa. Pray for a safe trip for him, friends. And for a productive time for me, heaven knows I’ll need to be as busy as possible.

Andrew,
Keep safe my love. If you have any clue as the answer above let’s talk about it, eh? It’s like you ask me, how is it possible to love someone this much? I miss you already and I can’t wait to see your sweet face again.

xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox, Shannon

2 Comments to “Africa”

  1. Friend, trust me when I say I know exactly how you feel. We can count together, ok? I have 70 days left. 68 until I get to see Josh again. So, it won’t be that much difference. :)

    I will be praying for you, and for your love over in Africa. I am so happy for you girl, and I really think that Andrew is a great guy. I was very happy to see you both on Friday. Let’s do coffee soon, ok? We have lots to catch up on, and it won’t be long before I can’t’ do that anytime I want, and will have to wait until I’m home on visits. :( I want to pack in what I can over the next few weeks.

    Have a wonderful Sabbath tomorrow, and I will see you soon!

    Love you bunches. <3

  2. Have I told you lately that I love you?

    ‘Cause…ya know…I do.

    Call me when you’re able.

    Love love love!

Leave a Reply

