A Grief Observed

This afternoon I learned that my precious Auntie passed away. She was 89. I feel like I should say something like, this is a tragedy and we are devastated, etc etc. But, all I can think is how blessed I am to have known this amazing woman. How much she influenced my life, my thoughts, my heart, and my mind. And I will continue to carry that with me, I’m so thankful for that. Am I torn up over this? Yes. My heart is broken in a way. And yet, it rejoices. It’s so nice to know that she’s living it up with Jesus right now. She’s up there partying with my grandmother and her late husband. The idea that she left us to go Home is the most comforting thought in the world. So tonight, I celebrate her life, and the time I got to spend with her. And I count myself beyond lucky to have known her and be loved by her. To be thought as something special in her mind.

Goodbye for now, Auntie. I love you forever.

xo – S

“It is hard to have patience with people who say ‘There is no death’ or ‘Death doesn’t matter.’ There is death. And whatever is matters. And whatever happens has consequences, and it and they are irrevocable and irreversible. You might as well say that birth doesn’t matter.”
– C.S. Lewis, A Grief Observed

Has this world been so kind to you that you should leave with regret? There are better things ahead than any we leave behind.
-C.S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

