Mumford and Sons

My friend, Joel gave me a cd on Saturday night at church called Mumford and Sons. I looked at the name and thought …mmm I don’t know about this…

I was an idiot for thinking that.

I’m Irish/British (among other things) but, I love anything that sounds Irish or folky. Like Gaelic Storm, I mean those guys are amazing. Well, Mumford and Sons is in roughly the same genre. They’re more folky, but they have a banjo and a trumpet…I’m just sayin’. Most of their songs are about love and they reference God a couple of times which I think is really neat.

There is one song called White Blank Page that I absolutely am in love with. The opening lines are:
Can you lie next to her and give her your heart, your heart as well as your body?
And can you lie next to her and confess your love, your love as well as your folly?
And can you kneel before the King and say ‘I’m clean’, ‘I’m clean’?

Once I heard the first line I was hooked. I think it impacted me the way it did because we don’t think of that these days. Can you lie next to her and give her your heart as well as your body? In a society where it’s mostly about drinking and sex and having a good time we lose perspective of how love should be. It’s not about a one night stand or “playing” someone. It’s about being able to surrender yourself and give, in this case her but him also, your heart. As well as your body. Not to mention how hard is it to confess your folly? It’s usually much easier to say, “Hey I love you”. Do we ever really want to add, “Oh and here are a few things I’m not so proud of…”?

I also like how they bring in, can you kneel before the King and say ‘I’m clean’? To be fair, no. No one can. But can we confess our follies and then say “I’m clean”? I think so, yes. How often that thought escapes us. How often we become bogged down with the drudgery of life and trudge along.

The beautiful today is this song. What thoughts it invokes, what chains it encourages me us to break, and the love it reminds me us of.  I encourage you to listen to the song and think about it.

Leave a Reply

